Several weeks later….

So a few weeks ago I posted about how I was aiming to lose a bit of weight. I was confident in losing the first few stone very quickly indeed, but things haven’t quite worked out as I had hoped.

I weighed myself a few weeks back and I was 20 stone 10, 290 pounds for my American friends, and I was shocked. It was comfortably the heaviest that I had ever been in my life and I set about losing weight. I was confident of losing it quickly as I had lost 3 stone (42 pounds) in a two month period back in 2012. Almost three weeks later and I haven’t even gotten below 20 stone yet.

In the original post I mentioned that I thought it would be slightly trickier this time as I am now in my 30s and to get to work and back is barely a four mile bike ride. I have changed my diet as well but it just doesn’t seem to be coming off very fast at all.

It wasn’t helped by my original scales not being reliable. One minute I would weigh myself, and I would go back and do it again and get a result that was several pounds either side the previous result. I would weight myself again and get yet another completely different result. I’m not even entirely sure if I was 20 stone 10 when I started this whole thing to be honest, although it wouldn’t surprise me if I was much more. I have since brought new scales which give me the same weight several times.

Now, based on the original, and probably wrong, reading of 20 stone 10, I have still lost some weight. I am down to around 20 stone 4.5, so 5 and a half pounds in the space of just under three weeks is still decent(ish), but it’s not nearly where I want it to be.

Because of all of this I have now joined a gym again and am aiming for a burning of around 700-800 calories per session. The first one was blighted by pulling both of my thigh muscles after five minutes, although I did still get around 2 and a half hours in, and today I managed just under two, but got through without any injuries, burning around 750 calories….I think.

ce5494a9b7933e658a482c4e094191ad

So onto more cheery subjects, one Tuesday, after a job interview that I will mention later, I went down to London to watch a band called Bleachers at London Dingwalls.

On my way I get talking to a woman on the training, maybe late 20s/early 30s, so the same sort of age as me. She asked me if I was transgender and I said yes, and what followed was some of the most obnoxious, ill-informed and downright rude things some people have ever said to me.

Apparently, according to this woman, I couldn’t possibly be transgender because I wasn’t wearing a dress and high heels, nor a lot of make up on. Apparently, you can only be transgender if you fit the stereotype and that really wound me up. Just because I don’t meet someone’s image of what a transgendered individual is, it doesn’t make my approach to my changing of gender wrong.

Firstly, I know plenty of women who don’t wear dresses….ever, nor high heels, and what would be up the most was the assumption that I have to fill what is someone else’s image of what a transgendered person should be. I am my own person and if I want to wear a dress, I will do it because I want to do it, not because some jumped up, self-obsorbed, chavvy little shit on a train says so.

Anyway, below is my video from the concert, it was very good 🙂

I’ve also been thinking a lot about what to do at the weekends in the future. I have spent most of the day two years at hockey on Saturday and Sunday evenings, but to be honest I was struggling with motivation once I moved back to Lincoln and what happened at the end of the season left a very bitter taste in my mouth.

On the ice the team did fantastically, but I soon started realising what certain people were like. Certain people started making everything all about them and glorifying even the smallest thing that they did (none of the players by the way, just to make that clear) and I think that this image sums it up the best…..

edd2f4435e245d7da085c9c0fc155618

Isn’t it funny how you only start learning what a person is truly like when you take a step back from things?

Sorry, I’ve deviated slightly. Amongst other things the hockey is too far away now and I can’t really afford to be driving for a four hour round trip, on my own, on a regular basis. I still probably still go occassionally, but I think for now, me and the Hawks are pretty much done. Don’t get me wrong, I still support them and want them to do well, and will probably still go and watch them when they’re playing in Sheffield and Peterborough, but other than that, not so much.

I am considering going back to Lincoln games on a semi-regular basis. Now that I live back in Lincoln I sort of want to go again, but I also know that if I do then I will end up getting addicted again, and I don’t want that.

We’ll see…..

Anyway, I’m going to end this with the latest example of me not getting a role I interviewed for. This one was for an IT company just outside of Lincoln, a company I had actually interviewed for for a different role in November. The last time I went for an interview for this company was for a Project Co-ordination role and they mentioned within the first five minutes of the interview that they had already seen who they believe to be the perfect candidate, making the interview practically pointless in every way.

Skip forward a few months and last week I had received an email from their director saying that my skills would be perfect for a role that he very briefly described, and asked if I could go for an interview. I agreed but on the four occasions that I asked him for a full job description, he wouldn’t reply to my emails. Infact, the only email he actually replied to was me stating that I would be available for an interview.

Anyway, I turned up and the only question he asked me during the whole thing was what I actually knew about the company. I was in there for nearly 75 minutes and he asked me one question.

I some ways I’m glad I didn’t get it.

I’m going to now bid you adieu.

Leave a Reply

